James Flack Norris Award
The James Flack Norris Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Teaching of Chemistry pays tribute to outstanding contributions to the field of chemical education. The Award consists of a $3,000 prize and a certificate. The presentation takes place at an Award Ceremony and dinner in November, followed by a formal address by the Awardee.
The Award, the first national award for outstanding achievement in the teaching of chemistry, was established in 1950 by the Northeastern Section of the American Chemical Society to honor the memory of James Flack Norris, Professor of Chemistry at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and a teacher of great repute. For more information, please see the Brief History of the Norris Award.
The first award was made in 1951 to Professor George Shannon Forbes, an outstanding teacher at Harvard and, in retirement, at Northeastern University. Past awardees are given in the list of Norris Award recipients.
James Flack Norris: The Man and The Award
Click for a brief history of the Norris Award
Click for a bio of James Flack Norris
Click for a list of previous Norris Award recipients
Professor Melanie Cooper
2014 Norris Award to Professor Thomas Greenbowe, Ph. D.
The Northeastern Section of the American Chemical Society is pleased to announce that Professor Thomas Greenbowe, Ph. D. is the winner of the 2014 James Flack Norris Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Teaching of Chemistry.
Since 1990, Thomas Greenbowe has been a faculty member in the Department of Chemistry at Iowa State University. Over the past thirty-two years, Thomas Greenbowe has taught 30,000 students and facilitated professional development workshops for 2,500 science teachers and college faculty. He tries to make the time in lecture as interactive as possible, employing group work, multimedia, demonstrations, effective clicker questions, and humor. For thirty-two years, in Indiana, Massachusetts and Iowa he continued to work with chemistry and science clubs to present safe and instructional chemistry demonstrations and activities to over 12,000 elementary, middle school and high school students and the general public. The Award was formally presented to Professor Greenbowe at the November 6, 2014 meeting of the Northeastern Section.