Monthly Meeting Report
November 2012 Monthly Meeting Report


Norris Award
The November meeting was held at the Astra-Zeneca research facility in Waltham. The meeting highlights were the presentation of the James Flack Norris Award to Vicente Talanquer of the University of Arizona at Tucson and the presentation of the Arno Heyn Memorial Book Prize to Karen Piper, the long time business manager of The Nucleus. Many thanks to Ken Mattes and Astra-Zeneca for use of their facility for the meeting.
Heyn Memorial Prize
Long time Nucleus business manager, Karen Piper, was the 2012 recipient of the Arno Heyn Memorial Book Prize. The prize is awarded annually to a per- son who has made substantial contri butions to the publications of the Northeastern Section of the American Chemical Society. The prize honors the memory of Arno Heyn, editor of the Nucleus from 1986-2003.
Past recipients of the Heyn Award have been Mark Spitler and Sam Kounaves (2005), Vince Gale (2006), Vivian Walworth (2007), Myron Simon (2008), Arthur Obermayer (2009), Donald Rickter (2010) and Harvey Steiner (2011).
Click here for photos from the meeting