Medicinal Chemistry group
2010 Annual Report Medicinal Chemistry Group
Dr. Raj (SB) Rajur, Program Chair for Medicinal Chemistry Division, NESACS
The Medicinal chemistry division is one of the active groups of NESACS that conducted two excellent symposia during the year 2010. The first symposium was held on May 22, 2010, and the topic was DRUG R&D IN CHINA-Status, Opportunity, International Collaboration and Challenge. It was a day-long symposium held at the Holiday Inn, Woburn, MA. There were ten speakers and the program was attended by more than 120 people.
The second symposium, EMERGING TREATMENTS FOR CNS DISORDERS, was held on December 9, 2010 at Hilton Hotel in Woburn, MA. There were 100 participants who enjoyed cutting edge research results that were presented by four well-known speakers from academia and the pharmaceutical industry:

Dr. Ian Bell, Merck, West Point, PA, spoke on “The Discovery of Orally Bioavailable CGRP Receptor Antagonists: From Concept to Clinical Efficacy.”

Dr. Larry Hardy, Director of Pharmacology, Sepracor Corporation, Marlborough, MA, spoke on the topic “Why all the excitement about glutamate?”
Dr. Edward Holson, Director of Medicinal Chemistry, Stanley Center for Psychiatric Research, The Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard, Cambridge, MA, spoke on the topic, “HDACs in memory and cognition: Development of isoform selective inhibitors with improved CNS drug properties.”
The keynote presentation for the evening was presented by speakers from RepliGen Corporation, Waltham, MA. Dr. James Rusche, Senior Vice-President of Research and Development, and Vincent Jacques, Senior Director of Preclinical Development, were the lead speakers. The topic was “HDAC Inhibitors for CNS Diseases: Challenges in Selectivity and Pharmacology.”
A social hour, networking, and dinner were parts of the program. The program chair, Dr. Raj (SB) Rajur, CreaGen Biosciences welcomed the guests and participants. Dr. Norton Peet, Director of Chemistry, Micro-biotix, moderated the symposium. The symposium was concluded with a token of respect to the speakers by Dr. Rajur.