Monthly Meeting
Local Seminars
The Nucleus
Contact Us



Lyman Newell Grants
The Lyman C. Newell Grants commemorate a former chair of the Northeastern Section who was a distinguished chemist, teacher, and historian of chemistry. For many years he was chair of the Chemistry Department at Boston University. Lyman Newell served as the first president of NEACT from 1898 to 1900 and expressed a continuing interest in training chemistry students throughout his long career. His efforts are continued by grants that bear his name.
While preference will be given to teachers who are new to teaching or returning to teaching, the awards are open to all secondary school chemistry teachers. Applicants need not be members of the Northeastern Section of the American Chemical Society or of NEACT.

All Award Recipients ...