Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.


April 30, 2006 @ 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

April 2006

The Ray and Maria Stata Center Building 3
32 Vassar Street
Cambridge, MA


8:30am – 9:00am Poster Set-Up and Registration, Breakfast

9:00am – 9:15am Welcoming Remarks (room 155)

9:15am – 9:30am German Exchange Presentation

9:30am – 9:50am D.R. Killelea (Tufts University) “Energy flow in gas-surface reactions”

9:50am – 10:10am Jessica C. DeMott (Brandeis University) “Hypercoordinate main group PNP pincer complexes”

10:10am – 10:30am Laura B. Sessions (Dartmouth College) “Block Copolymers for the Formation of Multimetallic Nanocomposite and Nanoparticle Systems”

10:30am – 10:50am Coffee Break

10:50am – 11:10am Ellen M. Sletten (Stonehill College) “A Flexible Stereospecific Synthesis of Polyhydroxylated Pyrrolizidines from Commercially Available Pyranosides”

11:10am – 11:30am Andrea J. Gabert (MIT) “Synthesis and characterization of ABA triblock copolymers with smectic C* liquid crystal side chains via ring opening   metathesis polymerization using a bimetallic molybdenum initiator”

11:30am – 11:50am Alisa A. Mueller (Harvard University) “Structure and Mechanism of TadA, an Adenosine Deaminase That Acts on tRNA”

11:50am – 12:30pm Lunch

12:30pm – 1:30pm First Poster Session

1:30pm – 2:30pm Second Poster Session

2:30pm – 3:30pm Keynote Address by Professor Daniel Nocera of Massachusetts Institute of Technology:“Powering the Planet: The Challenge to Chemistry in the 21st Century”.

3:30pm – 3:50pm  Awards Presentation

3:50pm – 4:00pm Closing Remarks, Poster Take-Down


Strem Chemicals & Springer


Best oral presentation (graduate student), sponsored by Strem Chemicals:
D.R. Killelea (Tufts University) “Energy flow in gas-surface reactions”

Best graduate poster presentation, sponsored by Springer:
Vikki M. Tsefrikas (BC) “Progress Toward the First Chemical Synthesis of a Single Walled Carbon Nanotube”

The Brauner Undergraduate Book Award, sponsored by the Education Committee of NESACS, was presented by Dr. Ruth Tanner of Umass-Lowell. The award went to an undergraduate student who gave the best oral presentation at the conference:
Alisa A. Mueller (Harvard University) “Structure and Mechanism of TadA, an Adenosine Deaminase That Acts on tRNA”

Graduate Women in Science Award:
Olena Rabotyagova (Tufts) ” Relationship Between Collagen Structural Hierarchy and Susceptibility to Degradation by Ultraviolet Radiation”


Chair: Ivan Korendovych, Tufts University

Vice-Chairs: Alfio Fichera, MIT William Neeley, MIT

WebMaster: Viatcheslav Azev, Tufts University

Program and Printing: Viatcheslav Azev, Tufts University Laila Dafik, Tufts University

Gifts and Journals: T. K. Subrahmanian, Tufts University Laila Dafik, Tufts University

Arrangement and Promotion: Sapna Sharma, UMass-Dartmouth Dr. LeAnn Williams, Shire

Steering Committee: Dr. Michael Strem, Strem Chemicals, Inc. Dr. Elena Rybak-akimova, Tufts University Dr. Ruth Tanner, Umass-Lowell Dr. Mohammad Movassaghi, MIT Dr. Lauren Wolf, NIST Dr. LeAnn Williams, Shire Dr. Sonia Taktak, MGH Dr. Aida Herrera, MIT


April 30, 2006
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Event Category:


April 30, 2006
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Event Category: